Gov. Abiodun to Inaugurate Governing Councils of Tertiary Institutions in Ogun State on Thursday

Ogun State governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun is set to inaugurate the governing councils of the two state-owned Universities and six Polytechnics, as well as that of the State Library Board, on Thursday, 25th August 2022.

Tertiary Institutions in Ogun State

Governing Councils to be inaugurated include those of the

  • Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago Iwoye
  • Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun
  • Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta
  • Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa
  • Gateway Polytechnic, SAAPADE
  • Abraham Adesanya Polytechnic, Ijebu-Igbo
  • D.S. Adegbenro Polytechnic, Itori
  • Ogun State College of Health Technology, Ilese.

A statement signed by the Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Prof. Abayomi Arigbabu in Abeokuta on Tuesday said the inauguration ceremony will hold at the Cinema Hall of the June 12 Cultural Centre, Kuto, Abeokuta at 11 am prompt.

The statement further said the composition of the Governing Council will “strengthen governance and administration in the institutions and render their performance more responsive to the dictates of the State Government’s Building Our Future Together Agenda.”

The members of the Councils are as follows

Olabisi Onabanjo University

  • Prof Toyin Ashiru Pro-Chancellor and Chairman
  • Mr Kunle Ogunmefun Member
  • Chief Joju Fadairo Member
  • Chief Adepegba Otemolu Member
  • Chief (Mrs) Matilda Iyabo Apampa Member

Tai Solarin University of Education

  • Prof. Rahman Bello Pro-Chancellor and Chairman
  • Prof Taiwo Osipitan Member
  • Iyalode Alaba Lawson Member
  • Prof Adewale Roland Solarin Member
  • Senator Gbolahan Dada Member

Moshood Abiola Polytechnic

  • Prof Kamal Balogun Chairman
  • Mr Segun Senbanjo Member
  • Dr Rabiu Kusimo Member
  • Mr Wole Sowole Member
  • Hon. Kamoru Oduntan Member
  • Chief Rasheed Olusoga Adenusi Member

Ogun State Institute of Technology, Igbesa

  • Chief Kola Sorinola Chairman
  • Chief Sabitu Falilu Member
  • Evang. Kehinde Akinsoji Member
  • Alhaja Dauda Afolabi Oloku Member
  • Otunba Akeem Adigun Member
  • Mr Tunde Odulaja Member

Gateway Polytechnic SAAPADE

  • Dr Yemi Ogunbiyi Chairman
  • Alhaji Raimi Adisa Saromi Member
  • Chief Fohun Abiola Member
  • Otunba (Dr) Adeleke Adedoyin Member
  • Chief Durojaiye Aiyedogbon Member
  • Chief Alli Adelani Ajibode Member

Abraham Adesanya Polytechnic, Ijebu Igbo

  • Alhaja Salmot Badru Chairman
  • Dr Gbolade Osinowo Member
  • Jide Akinolugbade Member
  • Shina Sofola Member
  • Chief Jide Ojuko Member
  • Chief Musbau Ayinde Obanla Member

D.S Adegbenro Polytechnic, Itori

  • Amb. Toye Okanlawon Chairman
  • Chief James Dina Member
  • Sunday Sowunmi Member
  • Chief kayode Sodiyan Member
  • Chief Muftau Akande Ajibola Member
  • Dr Kayode Olunuga Member

Ogun State College Of Health Technology, Ilese

  • Otunba Kunle Kalejaiye (SAN) Chairman
  • Chief Johnson Ogundeko Member
  • Alhaji Musbau Aremu Adebesin Member
  • ACP Lamidi Odulawa (RTD) Member
  • Alhaji Azeez Muhammed Member
  • Chief Dele Odulaja Member

To join the Council members as approved by the Governor and Visitor to these institutions are

  • Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology
  • Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Finance
  • Representatives of the Senate of the Universities,
  • Representatives of the Academic Board of the Polytechnics
  • Representatives of the Congregation of each of the institutions and
  • Representatives of the Alumni of the institutions

The statement added that “also to be inaugurated on Thursday and at the same venue is the State Library Board with the following members:

  • Prof. Segun Awonusi – Chairman
  • Mrs Bamidele Makinde – Member
  • Dr (Mrs) Ayodele Olubunmi Womiloju – Member
  • Dr Adebambo A. Oduwole (CLN) – Member
  • Dr (Mrs) Oyinade Tomori – CLN – Member
  • Barrister Tosin Adesanya – Member
  • Otunba Wasiu Taiwo – Member
  • Mr Ogunyinka Bernard Olanrewaju – Member
  • Mr Taye Solarin Sogbesan – Member
  • Mr Vincent F. Giwa CLN – Member

“Guests are expected to be seated in the hall by 10:30 am.”

Prof. Abayomi A. Arigbabu
Hon. Commissioner, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology,

Leave a Reply